Provincial Regulators

The practice of occupational therapy in Canada is regulated at the provincial level by the following bodies:

Note: Though no regulatory bodies exist in Yukon, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories, occupational therapists wishing to work in these regions can be registered by regulatory bodies in other provinces.


Association of Canadian Occupational Therapy University Programs (ACOTUP)

ACOTUP is a national organization of Canadian university programs in occupational therapy. ACOTUP promotes the health, productivity, and well-being of Canadians through leadership that shapes occupational therapy research and upholds the educational standards for the profession by promoting the generation of new ideas, philosophies, and research. Visit their website for a full list of accredited programs, prerequisites, and resources.

Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR)

CAPR is the national federation of provincial/territorial physiotherapy regulators committed to the development and improvement of regulatory standards of practice for physiotherapists in Canada.

Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists (CAOT)

CAOT is a national voluntary organization that provides professional development and networking opportunities that help OTs achieve professional excellence. CAOT also runs the National Occupational Therapy Certification Exam (NOTCE) necessary for registering as an OT anywhere in Canada, excluding Quebec. CAOT is not responsible for regulating the practice of occupational therapy in Canada — that falls to ACOTRO’s 10 provincial members.

Canadian Network of Agencies of Regulation (CNAR)

CNAR connects Canada’s provincial and national regulators, licensing boards, accrediting agencies, examining bodies, and government officials to develop best practices relevant to organizations engaged in the self-regulation of professions and occupations.